Hey guys,

This week I had an internet follower let me know he was visiting Osaka where I live so he and his partner met me for dinner. After some talking I found out that he is an art director with a keen interest in games development, specially games with unique atmospheres such as Journey, Ico, Shadow of the Colossus etc. He was kind enough to show me some of his work which inspired me to return to my roots and tackle that style of work again. Recently i’ve been focusing on Triple-A game art-styles, but I really wanted to get back to it because I used to draw it…. a lot.
EnderLingRemakes1 EnderLingRemakes2

After looking through some of my old stuff I was curious to redraw this piece for a third time to see how much i’ve improved in the past few years.

Here was the result from the past couple of evenings:

Heroes - About 2.5 hours

Heroes – About 2.5 hours

Fingers crossed it’ll look even better in 3 more years!

-Vin

5 thoughts on “

  1. Love the art! You can see your development path so well, amazing what you can do if you put the time and effort in. I would love to start drawing and doing some practice but I don’t know where to start, any tips? Software you would recommend or try drawing something in particular to practice? (For reference I have never done any drawing or art besides art subjects at school)

    • Hey thanks! Glad you liked my work.

      Advice? I would say just grab a graphics tablet (Wacom Bamboo is good) and Photoshop CC ($100 a year) and just practice. Grab a book by Scott R. called “How to Draw”, its a great book which will give you a head start. But most importantly, its just about putting the hours in, 2-4 a day if you want to see improvement. Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

